IDMI board members recognized for contributions to faculty

Dean Gregory Washington of the Samulei School of Engineering recognized eight faculty members at the spring faculty meeting on June 9, 2017.  Among those honored were three IDMI members:  Mohammad Al Faruque, Julie Schoenung and Regina Ragan.

Faculty Excellence in Research
This recognition is bestowed upon faculty members who have conducted exceptional fundamental or applied research in one or more areas, or who have made a single or unique contribution to engineering concepts, and in which the research is responsive to or has an impact on society as a whole.

Early Career – Mohammad Al Faruque, associate professor, electrical engineering and computer science.
Senior – Julie Schoenung, professor, chemical engineering and materials science.

Faculty Innovation in Teaching
This teaching award is presented to a faculty team or individual who has made outstanding contributions to the improvement of undergraduate engineering education.   It recognizes the demonstrated impact of innovation in the education process, including the design, development and application of new pedagogy, teaching tools and assessment methods.  Exceptional teaching in the classroom is also considered.  Selection favors those whose contributions have made important, pervasive improvements in engineering education with a significant potential for long-term impact.
Mid-Career – Regina Ragan, associate professor, chemical engineering and materials science.

Congratulations to our IDMI members for their contributions to their field and as exceptional educators.
Read the full article here.

Leave a Comment